Every lover of the Second Amendment already knows that California is one of the most hostile states when it comes to the Constitutional right of the citizenry in keeping and bearing arms.
With the Beaver State right next-door, possibly just through the mere process of osmosis, Oregon State Sen. Rob Wagner (D-Lake Oswego) and Oregon House Rep. Andrea Salinas (D-Lake Oswego) have also gone stupid.
While the state’s legislative year 2019 is barely a month old, the Democrat duo are co-sponsoring Senate Bill 501. If passed, count on SB-501 not so much passing even more legislation regarding firearms themselves, just everything else when it comes to the owning and operating that particular piece of hardware.
Some of the highlights (or lowlights, depending on your perspective) include anyone found to be in possession of a magazine with a maximum capacity of more than five rounds can receive a full year in prison, a fine to the tune of $6,250, or both.
Another specific of the proposed bill that turns the absurdity up to 11 would be the provision of limiting just how much any law abiding citizen can purchase. Get ready for this… no more than 20 rounds and/or shells.
- Requires person to secure permit before purchasing or otherwise receiving firearm. Specifies qualifications for permit and manner of applying for permit. Creates procedures for appealing denial of permit. Punishes receipt of firearm without valid permit by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.
- Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container. Punishes failure to secure firearm by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both.
- Requires person who owns or possesses firearm to report to law enforcement agency loss or theft of firearm within 24 hours. Punishes failure to report loss or theft by maximum of 30 days’ imprisonment, $1,250 fine, or both.
- Prohibits possession of magazine with capacity to hold more than five rounds of ammunition. Provides that person in possession of such magazine must sell or otherwise dispose of magazine within 180 days of effective date of Act. Punishes unlawful possession of magazine capable of holding more than five rounds by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.
- Requires criminal background check before transfer of ammunition. Restricts ammunition receipt to 20 rounds within 30-day period.
- Prohibits transfer of firearm by gun dealer or private party until latter of 14 days or Department of State Police has determined that recipient is qualified to receive firearm.